

NAML 2021 Biennial Meeting

Virtual Meeting

Meeting Host: University of Texas Marine Science Institute (UTMSI) Port Aransas, Texas October 26 – 27, 2021

Tuesday, October 26, 2021 All Times: Central Daylight Time

Time	Agenda	Presenter
10:00 - 10:30 a.m. CDT	Welcome Introduction to UTMSI	Bob Dickey, NAML President
10:30 - 11:15 a.m. CDT	Dealing with Disasters: Action Planning, Execution and Recovery - Hurricanes to Pandemics	Bob Dickey, NAML President
11:15 a.m 12:00 p.m. CDT	Federal Science Partners Update on Federal Legislative Affairs	Joel Widder & Meg Thompson
12:00 - 12:30 p.m. CDT	Lunch Break	
12:30 - 1:15 p.m. CDT	Confirmed Keynote Speaker: NOAA Strategic Vision for Ocean Sciences	Craig McLean, Assistant Administrator for Oceanic and Atmospheric Research, NOAA
1:15 - 1:45 p.m. CDT	Confirmed Invited Speaker: NSF Strategic Vision for Ocean Sciences	Terry Quinn, Division Director, Division of Ocean Sciences, NSF
1:45 p.m. CDT	Break – 15 minutes	
2:00 - 2:30 p.m. CDT	Confirmed Invited Speaker: NSF Strategic Vision for STEM Education and Workforce Development	Sylvia Butterfield, Acting Assistant Director, NSF Directorate for Education and Human Resources
2:30 - 3:15 p.m. CDT	Confirmed Invited Speaker: NSF FSML - Marine Laboratory Infrastructure Support	Peter McCartney, Program Director, NSF Division of Biological Infrastructure
3:15 p.m. CDT	Break – 15 minutes	
3:30 - 4:15 p.m. CDT	NAML Education Committee round table	Aly Busse, Chair Itchung Cheung, Vice Chair
4:15 - 5:00 p.m. CDT	NAML DEI Committee round table	Billie Swalla, Chair Amanda Knobloch, Vice Chair



Wednesday, October 27, 2021 All Times: Central Daylight Time

Time	Agenda	Presenter	
10:00 a.m. CDT	 NAML Business Meeting Call to Order and approval of minutes Biennium Overview Review of voting delegates Nominations/Elections - NAML President-Elect 	 Robert Dickey Lou Burnett Bob Cowen, Chair NAML Nominating Committee, Karina Nielsen, Billie Swalla DEI Committee Lou Burnett Dave Carlon Aly Busse Billie Swalla Robert Dickey 	
11:00 a.m. CDT	Regional Breakout Meetings using Zoom Rooms	NEAGMLLSAMLWAML	
11:45 a.m. CDT	Regional Report Out by Regional Presidents	Mike DeLuca, NEAMGLL Dave Eggleston, SAML Karina Nielsen, WAML	
12:15 p.m. CDT	Changing of the Guard – Closing Comments Adjournment	Robert Dickey & Dave Carlon	



NAML Board of Directors 2021

The Board of Directors consists of 15 members including the President, the President-Elect, the Past President and twelve (12) other members, four (4) from each regional organization as duly elected by each organization and titled members-at-large. The President, Vice President/President-Elect, and immediate Past President of each regional organization will normally fulfill three of these roles unless otherwise selected by the regional organization. (From Article II. Section 1 of the NAML Bylaws.) An individual serving on the Board of Directors must be a Delegate of a regular member institution (NAML Bylaws, Article I. Section 3. B.).

Officers

Robert Dickey, President 2020-2021 Dave Carlon, Vice-President/President-Elect 2020-2021 Robert Cowen, Past President 2020-2021

Ex Officio

Karina Nielsen, Treasurer, Ex Officio (non-voting)

Members-at-Large

Northeastern Association of Marine and Great Lakes Laboratories (NEAMGLL)

Mike DeLuca, NEAMGLL President 2021-2022 Bob Sterner, NEAMGLL President-Elect 2021-2022 Guy Meadows, NEAMGLL Past President 2021-2022 Josie Quintrell, NEAMGLL

Southern Association of Marine Laboratories (SAML)

Dave Eggleston, President 2020-2021 Sue Ebanks, President-Elect 2020-2021 Quint White, Past President 2020-2021 Read Hendon, SAML Treasurer

Western Association of Marine Laboratories (WAML)

Karina Nielsen, President, 2020-2021 Terry Donaldson, President Elect, 2020-2021 Billie Swalla, Past President, 2020-2021 Bob Richmond, WAML Secretary/Treasurer